Fanfare magazine

Interview with david DeBoor canfield

Please click HERE for the full interview with David Canfield that was published in late 2019 by Fanfare Magazine.

Fanfare Magazine

Raymond Tuttle

  • An interesting, wide-ranging program from a masterful saxophonist.
  • Camwell's mellifluous tone makes the central Largo of Vivaldi's concerto especially delightful. 
  • I think any saxophonist would be inspired by it, and would benefit by following Dr. Camwell's example.

NACWPI Journal, Volume 67, Issue 2, Spring 2020

Jeremy Koch - principal saxophonist of The United States Air Force Band

  • …Dave Camwell successfully demonstrates his adaptable musical dexterity in this cornucopia of thoughtful programming, partnered with world-class chamber soloists and commendable ensemble performance. This recording delightfully pays homage to compositional masters that never had the opportunity to write for such an expressive instrument, while giving renewed energy to saxophone standards and improvisatory inspired works. 
  • …these (Bach, Handel, Vivaldi) arrangements are a welcome example of baroque stylings, full of imaginative ornamented improvisatory elements, exhibiting Camwell’s warm sound and penchant for clear, intentional phrasing.
  • …this recording showcases Camwell’s versatility; he is not only a master of styles, comfortable in many genres, but is also an accomplished arranger and improvisor.
  • The Muczynski Sonata's Allegro energico is an exciting, rhythmic, and percussive powerhouse that showcases the performer’s technical prowess and altissimo control. There are countless recordings and performances where saxophonists too often cross into an overtly aggressive interpretation, but Camwell, restrained and controlled, delivers a very exciting presentation, easily vacillating between opposing motivic characters.
  • The delicate playing between the flute, saxophone, and piano create an expressive dialogue, presenting a clear, intimate tribute that is perfectly balanced and sets the standard for this unique chamber work (Koechlin Epitaphe). Jan/Feb 2020

Jordan VanHemert

  • Released in 2019, this album is another strong addition to the realm of saxophone recordings that showcases the versatility upon which he has built his career as a world-renowned artist.
  • Camwell’s performance of the very familiar Muczynski Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano is captivating in his bold phrasing choices. He lends his voice to this classic piece of saxophone repertoire, and the result is a recording full of subtleties that will inform the interpretation of any saxophonist studying this work. Of particular note is his delicacy in the altissimo register passages. 
  • Camwell’s lyrical phrases weave in and out of Dr. Hui-Ting Yang’s moving lines sublimely. 
  • The effortless blend of the two saxophonists and the resonant quality of their tones is a perfect match for the velocity of this composition. The excitement and energy jumps through the speakers; the vibrancy of the interpretation makes the listener feel as though they are listening to a pristine live performance of the work. The secondary lines composed by Camwell in BWV 1005 are a brilliant addition and yet another publication that the saxophone community is sure to love.  

Fanfare Magazine

Colin Clarke

  • ...Dave Camwell offers a slightly different focus, sax or two saxes with piano, the first piece heard in Schumann’s arrangement with piano with added lines by Camwell, the second in the Schumann but with lines from BWV29. It all works brilliantly…
  • ...there is a real feeling of satisfaction in listening to performances that are so meticulously prepared. In the arrangement from the Bach Violin Sonata, the two saxes chase each other like cat and mouse...
  • Camwell is superb; listen to how the delivery of each and every note is carefully considered in the Allegro. 
  • Camwell’s virtuosity is fully on display here.
  • This is warm, engaging music whose gentle undermining of the original enables the music to veer off in all sorts of stimulating directions…
  • The performance is terrifically judged, the band on pinpoint form while the soloists excel.

Fanfare magazine

Huntley Dent

  • ...Camwell’s upper register sounds almost flute-like, and he’s so delicate and smooth in fast passagework…
  • ...soulful and memorable…
  • ...Camwell has put considerable thought into the program, and there was more than a little work involved in gathering not just other instrumentalists but a chorus and two wind bands, to which one can add the additional work of arranging the Baroque pieces. It all came together in a rewarding CD that I found delightful from first to last. 
  • A varied and delightful program with broad appeal and real entertainment value.

Saxophone Academy Podcast

Dr. Wally Wallace

  • Beautiful and great arrangements...
  • A really lovely recording to listen to...
  • Very listenable...really pretty...
  • Camwell’s tenor playing is really lovely on this CD…
  • Dave Camwell - good guy, great playing!

Take Effect Reviews

Camwell brings flawless arrangements here, where classical and jazz ideas come together with meticulousness and timelessness.

Suite N.1 BWV 1007

National Association of College Wind & Percussion Instructors Journal, Fall, 2019

...The most impressive element of this new arrangement are Camwell’s suggested ornamentations. The difficulty of producing historically accurate ornaments is well known to students and teachers alike. Camwell’s ornaments serve as a guide to what is stylistic and appropriate. Students performing this edition will gain insight and understanding into what is possible, and will gain the skills required to improvise Baroque ornamentation.

This new edition of Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1 in G major is a welcome addition to the library of Bach transcriptions for saxophone. Camwell’s thoughtful use of dynamics and articulation allow Bach’s writing to be clear despite the change in medium. Schumann’s sparse accompaniment in no way distracts from the original composition, and in many instances his harmonic reimagination enhances Bach’s musical meaning. Saxophonists interested in fresh approaches to baroque transcriptions, and teachers looking to introduce Baroque ornamentation will find this new arrangement especially valuable. - Dr. Matthew Tracy

Full review

Concerto after Mendelssohn

Alberta winds & dave camwell

Dedicated to Dave Camwell by composer David Canfield.

"...we had the chance to record David Canfield's fantastic Concerto after Mendelssohn with the virtuosic Dave Camwell on the tenor saxophone for his album to be released later this year. Stay tuned for more details!"

May, 2019

Review of Bach BWV 1006 for two saxophones and piano

National Association of College Wind & Percussion Instructors Journal, Spring, 2019

...The celebrated saxophonist and pedagogue Dave Camwell again reinvigorates this staple of the classical canon through his subsequent adaptation for two alto saxophones and piano...

...The solo line is shared between the two saxophone parts, and although this can present challenges for matching sound and style within a split melodic line, Camwell masterfully divides the lines seamlessly...

...The articulations are all meticulously notated, facilitating the matching of style and texture between the saxophonists...

...Camwell’s adaptation serves as a welcome addition to the saxophone literature, particularly that of music for two saxophones... 

...This edition also provides an excellent way to connect young saxophonists to the music of Bach...

- Dr. Jeffrey Loeffert

Full Review